Digital Salad: Wargaming

You might recall back in March I did an update post, part of which was talking about my experience playing the Beta of Wargame: Red Dragon. The game is now over a month past release, and I’ve given up and uninstalled it. Yep, entirely opposite to what I was saying about the game pre-release, I’ve since fallen out of love with it, and I’ll tell you why.

81303_header

As with many things I have to start off with a big thank you to flatmate CakeBoxFox; in this case for helping me realise that I wasn’t enjoying the game any more.

Wargame is an incredibly addictive game. Out of the many matches I played from the moment I got it during beta I won a measly one. I’ll go into detail about that a bit more in a moment, but I honestly don’t think that’s all me being rubbish at the game. Despite losing abysmally nearly every time I played I still wanted to play more. I’ll win next time … If I just tweak this I’ll do better … If I find a team I’ll do better.

CakeBoxFox told me bluntly how stupid I was; I was under Wargame’s spell. I was never going to win. I lost most of all because I played casually, and the game suffers from the hugely dedicated fan base that play it far more than I ever could – who learn the exact details of which units have the stat advantages. I just went with what felt and looked good – I couldn’t spare the time to be any more hardcore even if I wanted. I couldn’t ever compete with them, and they trounced me every time. That’s cool if they enjoy that, but I don’t.

The rounds took forever, often an hour or so, which whilst fun in some senses made it almost impossible for a casual player like me to take part. I struggle to find a straight hour to sit down and game on a week night, and when I do find it its too valuable to spend on Wargame – it feels like a waste.

2503144-wargame_red_dragon-11
Looking into it more, naval combat was a big disappointment for me.

Pure naval maps just end up as a stalemate, with both sides running out of points. There’s just not enough unit variety to really tweak your build to your style, or even do much with them. Its defense or offense – there’s not much strategy in that. The mixed naval and land maps were even more disappointing, with naval almost pointless but for surprise mass amphibious landings behind enemy lines.

For a game focused so much on the naval element, and one of the main reasons I decided to go for Wargame: Red Dragon, I felt let down by it significantly.

Over time it seems that certain meta builds have developed as well. There’s almost no point putting many points into air power for instance, because anti-air is so cheap and effective. Any planes just get shot down, so nobody uses them – until they mass them for a huge bombardment near the end of an offensive phase. Tanks? Mostly just a very expensive target for cheaper anti-armour units.

ss_24765d22d59d4277c9e2c551c3bf19fdd5d31225.1920x1080

So, with some help from CakeBoxFox, I decided to uninstall Wargame.

All I was enjoying really was tweaking my builds, not the hours of combat that went nowhere.

Honestly, I’ve not missed Wargame since I uninstalled it. I’ve been enjoying playing on all my other games in the meantime, and I’ve been finding the time feels much better spent.

So that’s my Wargame story. I still very much enjoy Wargaming, and Wargame: Red Dragon is a good game but its not right for me. If you can handle the time it demands then it might suit you more than me!

 

Digital Salad – lifeasadigitalsalad.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

