Salad In A Sticky Spot

I have a difficult choice to make right now.

giphy

Rockstar announced the upcoming release dates of GTA V on PC and PS4/Xbone. I’m tempted, even though I already have it on the Xbox 360.

I want to be able to play GTA V Online with friends (although I’ll have to find some of them on GTA V in the meantime as well!). But, do I wait until Jan 2015 for the PC version or take the plunge and buy a PS4?

I’ve been seriously looking at getting a PS4 with CakeBoxFox. There’s some games coming up that we both fancy; and it would be a replacement for our aging Xbox 360 that is rapidly nearing the end of its natural life.

Thing is, there’s still not enough games on the PS4 to get us running out to the shops to buy one. Maybe there eventually will be; perhaps GTA V could be that watershed.

Extra problematic is that I’ll need a new PC to be able to run GTA V. My current one’s taken a beating for far too long and needs a replacement if I want to do some serious gaming on it.

I react a little like this to my PC right now
I react a little like this to my PC right now

So, either way it’s going to be expensive – but which would be the best? Its the decision a lot of gamers are going through right now. I really don’t know personally, so comment and tell me what you think!

Digital Salad – lifeasadigitalsalad.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “Salad In A Sticky Spot

  1. Jeromai September 14, 2014 / 3:41 pm

    I’m personally a PC fan, but I think the best way of looking at it would be to ask yourself what control scheme you prefer more – gamepad or mouse/keyboard, and whether you plan to play a lot of local multiplayer with the PS4 (with CakeBoxFox fer example.)

    • Digital Salad September 15, 2014 / 8:01 pm

      I’m a definite PC fan, if only for the versatility of it as a platform.

      Great point with the preferred control scheme and whether I’d want local multilayer. I’d not thought of either thing, but both give the PS4 some brownie points.

      It’s a tough choice because I could justify both and it’s not really fair to compare them; but life’s not full of fair choices sadly and money speaks loudly.

      Big thank you for your input Jeromai, it got me thinking!

  2. C. T. Murphy September 14, 2014 / 3:57 pm

    There are some pretty good games on Playstation 4 already. I’m enjoying owning the system a lot. Especially with Playstation Plus, I seem to get my value!

    • Digital Salad September 15, 2014 / 7:57 pm

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts

      I’m not 100% on the games out there at the moment. Once AC: Unity and GTA V hit it I might be convinced though, none of them have got me that excited quite yet though.

      I definitely reckon the PS4 is the best value for money console, and the best overall. Glad to hear you’re enjoying yours Murf!

Leave a Reply

