Forgive Me, For I Have Sinned

So, yeah, I feel like I’ve sinned digitally; so this here is my confession.

1339898072874_2661629

There’s no way to say it – but I’ve played Fifa 13 on the Wii U and (can I whisper this?) … I enjoyed it.

Myself just a couple of years ago would’ve hated me for saying that. Not only am I now a filthy casual gamer, but I’m also a Fifa fan … the very same stereotype that I used to hold so much contempt for.

I’m not ashamed either. Maybe Murf’s fantastic post on opinions inspired me? Essentially, though, I’ve reached the realisation I should just embrace my own mind. I like what I like and dislike what I dislike; I shouldn’t ever change or hide that because I’m afraid of what others might like. Sure it can change, and others can definitely challenge my opinions and help them change, but a key part of that is being proud to say what you think.

So I have digitally sinned, and I’m proud of it. I’m the stereotype I hated, and happy about it; here’s why I am.

Messi FIFA 13_656x369

Fifa 13, and all the other vast array of sports games out there, are the most consistently local co-op friendly games out there. Local co-op is a big thing for me, and it seems to be sadly dying out in a lot of modern games genres. In the midst of it all though, if you want to play with a friend on your sofa, you can depend on a sports game for a fun competition.

I also realise now that sports games are fun. Its not just fun, but unadulterated fun. The game is the story in and of itself; you create a story around the game. The fightback from 3-0 down at half time, where one player scores the lot. Now that’s a story! I’ve been lying on the floor cheering after winning as the underdog in a tough match.

That’s not to do down the awesome gaming stories out there, but when I don’t have much time for gaming in my busy life, I want to be able to drop in and drop out of a game. A sporting game not only lets me do that, but doesn’t spend that time throwing a story at me, it lets me go have fun and make my own story – and I really appreciate that.

I love all sorts of other games, but I’m proud to say that one of my favourite games are sports games – and Fifa 13 is one of them (it also helps that it came free with my Wii U and freebies are always better!).

Digital Salad – lifeasadigitalsalad.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “Forgive Me, For I Have Sinned

    • Digital Salad December 14, 2014 / 12:22 am

      What if I get the internets to support my quest? 😀

  1. C. T. Murphy December 14, 2014 / 8:02 am

    I am not a football guy, but some of my best memories are playing this arcade-style, hyper violent sports game with my friends. We all made our own custom teams and started a league. It was super fun for as long as it lasted!

Leave a Reply

