Salad Saturday Screen [8]

It’s that time of the week again, and this week I’ve actually managed it on time! This week isn’t such a happy screenshot memory though, unfortunately, but it’s one I have to share.

2014-12-12_00001

I, like many Mount & Blade series fans, reacted with joy when there was a surprise announcement from developer Taleworlds around a month ago that the popular Brytenwalda mod was being developed into a full DLC.

I’d played Brytenwalda, and whilst it wasn’t one of my favourite mods, it was a decent offering that was a good platform for Taleworlds to build on. The first DLC to Mount & Blade: Warband was also one of my all time favourite games, so it looked good on paper. So; I pre-purchased the DLC.

Mount & Blade: Warband’s second DLC ‘Viking Conquest’ went live this Thursday evening, to an absolute flop.

The screenshot above is from my very first battle on a brand new single-player campaign, and as you can see there’s some slight issues with the textures on my horse – namely that he’s a damn ghost horse! You can’t really tell either but his galloping was all over the place and totally unnatural.

This single-player screenshot was about 10 minutes before the game crashed out for the latest time of countless times before, and after trying a multiplayer mode that was strangely bland and incredibly buggy.

The Taleworlds forums and the Mount & Blade Reddit are awash with complaints about the Viking Conquest release, so I really won’t go into detail on them any more. More technical people have covered them far better than I ever could!

The release flop of Viking Conquest means a lot to me though. I’m a massive Mount & Blade fan (as you might’ve noticed!), but I just can’t excuse the appalling release of Viking Conquest. The DLC has created a million problems on top of a game that worked perfectly well. I expected quality from Taleworlds, and they’ve let me down.

I still have high hopes for Mount & Blade 2: Bannerlord, scheduled for release in the ever further ‘near future’. But Viking Conquest does worry me about Bannerlord. Several of the additions to Viking Conquest that look like features borrowed from the Bannerlord development are clearly some of the main causes of the bugs. There’s still plenty of time for fixes though, so fingers crossed.

Digital Salad – lifeasadigitalsalad.wordpress.com

3 thoughts on “Salad Saturday Screen [8]

    • Digital Salad December 13, 2014 / 10:44 pm

      You’re telling me! It needs more than just a Caribbean cruise though I’m thinking.

Leave a Reply

