TMGR [6]: GTA V

I’m no stranger to GTA V, I’ve completed the single player before on the Xbox 360. I’d never done GTA Online before I picked up the PC version of GTA though, so that was the biggest pull of the PC version for me. That said, I really wanted to give the single player a go and do it ‘properly’ – crossing all the t’s and dotting all the i’s. This is my 20 minutes with the single player, offline, PC version of GTA V.

2015-06-09_00001

Giving myself the 20mins time limit was not only damned difficult on GTA V but also a real eye opener. Besides the obnoxiously long load in that anybody who has played GTA V will attest to (in this case over 2mins for the single player), I only got one mission and one rampage done.

I loaded in as Franklin, went to a gun shop, bought him a delightful pink gun, did a really short mission where you shoot up some gangsters in an alley way, got into a fight with the police, died … and then time was up!

When it comes to things GTA, I really enjoy the missions Rockstar have created, but I only play it in short stints. I’ll do a mission or two and then do a mad rampage or two until I die and call it quits – I don’t take it too seriously.

In my 20mins I only managed a segment of the relatively small amount I usually do, so it seems GTA is far greedier on my time than I thought – even when I was only doing single player. I like my spare time, I don’t like games that greedily try to steal it from me! It’s certainly not a feature you want in a game when you only have 20mins to spend with it, and that’s without even considering the massive load times!

It was also kind of boring playing GTA single player again, I hate to say. I’d done the mission before on the Xbox, but I fear it’s a bit more than that. I’m worried I’ve been spoilt by the personalisation of GTA Online. For all the negatives of the GTA Online game and community, the world they’ve created there is more dynamic and more fun to play in. It’s a shame, because I really want to do the single player through again but the 20 mins has actually left me wondering whether I have the stamina and patience to go through it all again!

Unpopular Opinion Puffin time!

I realise I don’t really like any of the pretty universally adored characters in the single player story. I don’t even like the support cast like Lamar or Lester. I’m not totally sure why either, but rather than the mesh of like and dislike that Rockstar try to make you feel for each character, I just find that they all irritate me. Maybe that’s more me though!

Any who, as with all 20min reviews it’s time to do a score.

These scores are always based on the rigid 20mins I have with a game, and this 20mins wasn’t a good one for GTA V’s single player.

Combine being at the start of the game, with a boring experience (which was partly the luck of the draw of missions) and I have to say it’s not all the game’s fault. I know part of it’s me as well, especially having done it all through once before. That said, despite all that I still don’t think GTA V’s single player is a good game to play in a small amount of time. It wants to draw you in, and if you’ve not got time to do that it leaves you feeling pretty crap when you tear yourself away part way through something.

So, all said and done GTA V’s single player gets 2/5. Stay tuned for the GTA Online TMGR soon!

Untitled4

 

Digital Salad – lifeasadigitalsalad.wordpress.com

One thought on “TMGR [6]: GTA V

Leave a Reply

